Skip to content

Expressing Love in Your Life


The ultimate force in the universe is Love. It tops the emotional scale given in the Abraham Hicks books. It is the peak experience described in Enlightenment. How can we experience more of it in our relationships with ourselves and others?

For those seeking to raise conscious awareness, experiencing more love is about the extent of surrender and acceptance for what is across all areas of life. This is not the same as tolerating or putting up with something. It is being absolutely ok with whatever presents.

There are 8 different types of love according to the ancient Greeks. These are Agape, Eros, Phila, Philautia, Storge, Pragma, Ludus, and Mania. Each of these can be considered from this perspective of radical acceptance.

1. Agape — Unconditional

This is altruistic love in the service of mankind. It is based on what is being asked of you without asking for a return. Often, we resist doing the things that are asked of us each day rather than letting go and joyfully engaging. When something is asked of you, this is not just being approached with a request, but aspects that come into our field that we could address. Some people term this the ability to respond (responsibility). These are ways to provide nurture and support where needed.

2. Eros — Romantic

This is usually associated with romantic, passionate, and physical love. As it is directed at meeting sexual desires it can be very receiving rewards orientated but really comes into its own when it is an expression of giving. Eros is not possible when either party is orientated toward being satisfied or getting something out of it. However, when the focus is not driven by the ego the other person becomes the central motivation.

3. Philia — Affectionate

This is the kind of love that runs deep in true friendship through shared values and respect. You feel on the same wavelength and resonate with this individual’s beingness. There is a deep joy in being a part of the other person’s journey that expands your own experience. When you are in a state of complete acceptance, even things that you would not choose for yourself are a point of fascination.

4. Philautia — Self

This is recognition of your own worth and needs. It is about keeping your own well-spring full in order to give to others. This compassion for yourself is not narcissistic or selfish but profoundly respectful and nurturing. This is about being ok with every aspect of self as it occurs. Things like negative emotions, mistakes, and conditioned responses.

5. Storge — Familiar

This love is often found between parent and child. There is a strong bond, kinship, and familiarity between people which leads to putting the other person first and supporting their needs and growth. When you fully acknowledge and accept the essence of family, you encourage and support their path as it emerges without attachment to the outcome.

6. Pragma — Enduring

This is a love that has matured and developed over time. There is an appreciation for the journey and contribution of the other individual as contributing to the richness of your own experience even if it is not always harmonious. For those that are truly part of your life, there is a bond in your shared history and contribution to each other’s development. You will have seen the good and bad and found ways to be ok with it.

7. Ludus — Playful

This is the feeling of infatuation in the early days of romance when everything is rose-tinted and blissful. However, you can reconnect with this sense of universal love through another person when you see their flaws as gifts in their own right too. With complete surrender to daily experience, newness again emerges as a part of every interaction.

8. Mania — Obsessive

This is often associated with infatuation, jealousy, or even anger. It can be the most likely to be imbalanced. However, when adopted with freedom of expression for the other, there is a tremendous focus that can support the journey of all involved. With increased acceptance, energy is not diverted to deal with what you are resisting. This means there is more singularity of direction and less scattering which is experienced as greater commitment and clarity.

Image by Ben Kerckx from Pixabay