Skip to content

Navigating the Phases of the Dark Night of the Soul


The Dark Night of the Soul is a profound spiritual journey that takes individuals through a series of challenging phases, ultimately leading to spiritual growth and transformation.

This concept, rooted in the writings of mystics like St. John of the Cross and St. Teresa of Avila, describes a period of intense inner turmoil, doubt, and despair that often precedes a deepening of one’s connection with the divine.

Phase 1: Awakening

The journey into the Dark Night of the Soul often begins with an awakening—a moment of realization that something is profoundly missing or incomplete in one’s life. This can be triggered by a crisis, a loss, or a deep inner longing for spiritual fulfillment. During this phase, there is a growing sense of discontent with what is and a yearning and seeking for something beyond the material world.

This often shakes your very foundation and the way in which you have been interacting with life until this point. The insight reframes your life experience. This is deeply unsettling and may result in resistance and wanting to go back but not being able to but also having no idea of the way forward. Sitting in this space requires grieving all that you were without knowing what is becoming. It is helpful to use practices and rituals that allow you to cope with this lack of clarity as well as letting go of the things that no longer fit. Give yourself space to mourn and celebrate the passing as part of your rebirth into a new way of being.

Phase 2: The Dark Night Begins

As the Dark Night deepens, individuals enter a phase of profound inner darkness and confusion. This is a period of intense emotional and psychological suffering. Doubts, fears, and unresolved issues from the past come to the surface, often leading to a sense of isolation and hopelessness. The ego, which has played a dominant role in one’s life, starts to unravel.

As the process of breaking with your past identity deepens, you are parting ways with things with which you previously identified but have not yet claimed any new way of presenting and interacting with the world. It is as if you are emptying and other is nothing left. although there will be an urge to hang onto what used to work it just causes aggravation as it is like an ill-fitting suit. Instead, surrender to the process. Allow yourself to experience the darkness without resistance. Seek support from therapists, spiritual counselors, or support groups. Journaling and meditation can also help you navigate this phase.

Phase 3: The Purification

In this phase, the ego continues to crumble, and individuals confront their deepest fears and insecurities. It can be a painful and disorienting experience as one faces their shadow self—the aspects of themselves they have suppressed or denied. The purification process is akin to a spiritual detox, where the soul is cleansed of its impurities.

As your identity unravels, practice self-compassion and self-forgiveness as you face the things that previously provided a sense of safety. Explore shadow work and confront your inner demons with courage and honesty. Seek solace in prayer, meditation, or mindfulness practices. You will often find yourself experimenting with facing these fears as the outer world mirrors your changing understanding of what is real.

Phase 4: The Divine Darkness

As the purification deepens, individuals may feel a sense of abandonment by the divine. It’s as if the spiritual connection that once provided solace and guidance has vanished. This phase can be likened to a profound spiritual emptiness and a loss of faith. You are seeking inspired action but there is not yet a basis for this action. The metamorphosis in your cacoon is still taking place. So inspiration only occurs in terms of this change,

This is about connecting to yourself as the source and fully trusting in the process. Understand that this phase is essential for your spiritual growth. Seek solace in the knowledge that the divine is still present, even if it feels distant. Continue with your spiritual practices, even in the face of doubt.

Phase 5: Union and Transformation

The final phase of the Dark Night of the Soul is marked by a profound sense of union with the divine. After enduring the darkness, individuals experience a deep spiritual awakening and a newfound connection to the divine source and the oneness of life. They emerge from the Dark Night transformed, with a greater sense of purpose. This is a quantum shift whereby you have died and been reborn. Parts of your previous foundation have crumbled away and been replaced with new bedrock. The flow of your energy has also changed such that your lifestyle is more healthy and inspiring to others.

If you find yourself navigating the Dark Night, remember that you are not alone. Seek support from spiritual mentors, therapists, and support groups, and continue to engage in practices that nurture your spiritual well-being. Embrace the process with faith and surrender, knowing that on the other side of the darkness lies a deeper connection to the divine and a more profound sense of purpose in life.

Image by TaylorSmith from Pixabay