Skip to content

Which Yoga Practice is Right for You?


The practice of yoga dates back to ancient India. There are a wide variety of classes and styles of yoga. Still, they all involve performing a series of postures and controlled breathing exercises to promote flexibility and calm the mind.

The poses require balance and concentration and practitioners are encouraged to focus less on distractions and stay more in the moment.

Which style you decide to try depends on factors such as health, level of experience, and alignment with your Ayurvedic dosha.

In Ayurveda, the traditional system of medicine from India, individuals are classified into three primary doshas: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. Each dosha is associated with specific characteristics, and certain yoga practices are believed to balance and harmonize these doshas. Here’s a brief description of how different yoga practices may align with each dosha.

Vata Dosha

Characteristics: Air and ether elements, light, dry, quick, irregular, creative, and enthusiastic.

Recommended Yoga includes gentle and grounding practices to calm the mind, provide stability, balance erratic energy, and promote tranquility. These individuals should focus on:

  • Gentle Hatha Yoga: Focuses on physical postures (asanas) and breath control (pranayama). Suitable for beginners as it provides a foundational understanding of yoga poses.
  • Yin Yoga: Targets deep connective tissues through passive, long-held poses. Aims to improve flexibility and release tension.
  • Restorative Yoga: Uses props to support the body in gentle poses. Promotes relaxation and rejuvenation, often used for stress relief.
  • Meditation and Mindfulness Practices that support self-awareness.
  • Focused Breathwork (Pranayama):

Pitta Dosha

Characteristics: Fire and water elements, sharp, intense, focused, competitive, and goal-oriented.

Recommended Yoga Practices are those that involve physical challenge along with cooling and calming practices to balance heat. and promote self-acceptance, non-competitiveness, and compassion

  • Vinyasa Yoga: Characterized by a dynamic flow of postures, linking breath with movement. Often referred to as “flow” yoga, it emphasizes smooth transitions between poses.
  • Ashtanga Yoga: Involves a set sequence of poses performed in a specific order. Emphasizes strength, flexibility, and endurance.
  • Restorative Yoga for Cooling Down to soothe intensity and promote relaxation.
  • Breath-focused practices like Sheetali and Sheetkari pranayama

Kapha Dosha

Characteristics: Earth and water elements, heavy, slow, steady, stable, nurturing, and calm.

Recommended Yoga Practices included energizing and invigorating practices to counter lethargy.

  • Dynamic and warming practices with fast-paced flow e.g. Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutations):
  • Breath of Fire (Bhastrika) pranayama to increase energy and warmth.
  • Inversions and backbends to stimulate and uplift.

Despite these distinctions in emphasis, many yoga practices can benefit all doshas by promoting overall balance. The following yoga styles support Vata-type individuals with grounding that calms their erratic scattered nature. They also support Pitta due to the soothing meditative and disciplined practices counteracting their intensity. Lastly, the emphasis on movement and breath balances the stagnation, heaviness, and lethargy of Kapha types.

  1. Iyengar Yoga:
    • Developed by B.K.S. Iyengar
    • Emphasizes precision and alignment in held poses.
    • Uses props like belts and blocks to help practitioners achieve correct posture alignment.
  2. Kundalini Yoga:
    • Kundalini Yoga is a spiritual and dynamic form of yoga that combines postures, breathwork, meditation, and chanting.
    • Focuses on awakening the dormant spiritual energy at the base of the spine (kundalini).
  3. Jivamukti Yoga:
    • Integrates physical postures, meditation, chanting, and ethical principles by using dynamic and energetic sequences with sound.
    • Emphasizes spiritual and environmental awareness.
  4. Anusara Yoga:
    • Modern Hatha style that emphasizes a heart-centered approach, alignment principles, and a celebration of the individual spirit.
    • Emphasizes alignment principles and heart-opening poses and celebrates the intrinsic goodness in all.
  5. Kripalu Yoga:
    • Emphasizes self-awareness, breath, and alignment.
    • Encourages practitioners to explore and listen to their bodies.
  6. Sivananda Yoga:
    • Based on five principles: proper exercise, proper breathing, proper relaxation, proper diet, and positive thinking/meditation.
    • Features a set sequence of 12 basic asanas in each class.

These are just a few examples, and there are many other styles and hybrid forms of yoga. The choice of practice often depends on individual preferences, goals, and physical condition. Individuals often benefit from a well-rounded practice that includes elements from various styles, especially if they have a combination of doshas or imbalances.

Image by Duy Cường Nguyễn from Pixabay